Insurance Rates Online - Your Source For Affordable Insurance Quotes

California Auto Insurance

 

With so many companies licensed to sell California auto insurance, it’s important to know your rights and responsibilities when choosing a new auto insurance policy or renewing your current one.

California Auto Insurance Required Coverage

Motor vehicle owners in California are required to carry bodily injury and property damage liability insurance. Bodily injury liability coverage pays for things like medical expenses, pain and suffering, and lost wages for someone in an accident that you are responsible for. According to California state law, your car insurance policy must include a minimum of $15,000 for the injury or death of one person in a single accident, and $30,000 in coverage for all persons in a single accident.

Property damage liability insurance, which covers damage to someone else’s property in an accident you are responsible for, has a low state required minimum of just $5,000. Since it seems like just a minor fender bender can cause this amount of damage, if you buy just the minimum amount of coverage, you would be required to pay any additional costs from your own pocket.

Regardless of who is operating the vehicle, owners must provide insurance. It’s also important for you to know that each policy includes provision for occasional drivers, and if someone who meets these exclusions drives your car and is involved in an accident, your insurance will not cover the incident. Exclusions are things like a suspended or revoked license, or having received tickets such as driving under the influence.

As a state, California does not require coverages like comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist, or medical payment. Nevertheless, it is an excellent idea to carry some level of each of these items so that you are fully protected regardless of the type of incident.

Other Important Facts About California Auto Insurance

By knowing these additional facts about car insurance in California, you can protect yourself and your family from unexpected problems.
  • When your get a new, replacement or additional vehicle, it is your responsibility to notify your insurance company prior to taking possession.
  • Your car insurance policy may not cover you if you drive in Mexico; make sure to check with your company before crossing the border.
  • Failure to carry auto insurance could result in suspension and fines for the vehicle’s owner, regardless of who is operating the vehicle at the time.
  • You must have proof of insurance in order to obtain or renew vehicle registration, to get the vehicle inspected, or if you are stopped by a police officer or get into an accident.

More Information on California Auto Insurance

Additional information on auto insurance in California is available through the California Department of Insurance. Call them at 800-927-4357.

Start Now

Now that you know the important facts, you’re ready to start comparing California auto insurance quotes. Just enter your zip code and you’ll be instantly matched to over a dozen companies offering car insurance in your area. Choose the three or four which sound best, and soon you’ll have the coverage you need to protect you and your family. What are you waiting for? Enter your zip code now!

Zip Code: